Department of Clinical Laboratory Sciences Scholarships, Financial Aid, and Awards SCHOLARSHIPS

The number and amount of scholarships given to students by the Department of Clinical Laboratory Sciences may vary each year dependent on funds available. One or more scholarships of \$500 or more may be awarded. Students in the Medical Technology Program may apply for the following scholarships:

1. Betty Lynne Theriot Scholarship

These scholarships are funded by sales of the CLS Review Book published by the Department.

2. Faculty and Alumni Scholarship

These scholarships are funded by dedicated donations to the Department by faculty, alumni or friends.

Eligibility:

Students must be full-time and in good academic standing to be eligible. A student who has previously received a School of Allied Health Professions scholarship will not be eligible.

Criteria:

Scholarships will be awarded based upon:

- GPA (overall with emphasis on LSUHSC courses in the Medical Technology Program)
- Financial need application form and essay
- Faculty evaluation using Evaluation of Student's Professional Capabilities form
- Evaluation of contribution to profession of Clinical Laboratory Science

Selection Committee

Scholarship selection will be made by the faculty with possible input from an advisory committee of up to 3 non faculty individuals selected by the faculty. If utilized the review of the applications by the advisory committee will be carried out using "blind data" excluding the candidate names. All information is confidential.

FINANCIAL AID

Upon acceptance to the LSUHSC MHSRC programs, students will receive a packet of information from the School of Allied Health's Student Affairs Office. This packet will include information on Financial Aid and Residence Hall options.

To learn more about Financial Aid options, contact 504-568-4820 or visit the <u>Financial</u> Aid website.

To learn more about the LSUHSC Residence Hall, click here.

DEPARTMENTAL AWARDS

The Department of Clinical Laboratory Sciences has four departmental awards that may be given each year. Each award consists of a plaque and an honorarium. The recipients are chosen by the faculty after receiving nominations from their classmates and clinical instructors.

- 1. The Betty Lynne Theriot Memorial Outstanding Student Award is named in memory of Betty Lynne Theriot, who was an innovative and creative educator. The generous donation of the rights to a review book currently written, published, and sold by our faculty has allowed endowment of a professorship, and support of this award and scholarships. This award is given to the student who demonstrates excellence in all areas of the profession—academic, technical, and interpersonal skills, and the person who the faculty feels will make a significant contribution to the profession. This award is sponsored by proceeds of sales of the CLS Review book.
- 2. The Faculty Award for Excellence in Clinical Laboratory Science is given to a student who demonstrates competence in the classroom and student laboratories, a commitment to the profession, and excellent clinical skills during the clinical rotations. This award is sponsored by alumni and faculty contributions as well as the proceeds of the CLS Review book published by the department.
- 3. **The Scholastic Achievement Award** is given to a student who maintains a high GPA in the program at LSUHSC and who exhibits excellent technical and interpersonal skills. This award is sponsored by alumni and faculty contributions as well as the proceeds of the CLS Review book published by the department.
- 4. **The J. Clyde Swartzwelder "C²" (Competence X Compassion) Award** is given to a student who has excelled in the study of parasitology and also demonstrated compassion. This award is sponsored by donations from the friends and family of Dr. J. Clyde Swartzwelder, a noted parasitologist.